Shamrock Half Marathon Training Week 1: 01/26-02/01

It’s great to be back! Obviously my training for the Shamrock Half Marathon is beginning much later than I would have liked, but I still have some time to get it together. Sadly, this will not be the PR I was hoping for this year.

I was cleared to run again as of last Tuesday, but there were rules: no more than 15 miles for the week, no more than 3 runs for the week, and I had to take at least one day off in between runs. I decided to err on the side of caution and did less mileage than I was allowed.

  • Monday: 45 minutes of physical therapy at home
  • Tuesday: 1 hour physical therapy session + 2 mile run
  • Wednesday: Rest
  • Thursday: 3 mile run + 20 minutes of physical therapy at home
  • Friday: PiYo: Sweat
  • Saturday: Rest
  • Sunday:  5.5 mile run + PiYo: Define Upper Body

Total: 10.5 miles

These runs were more exploratory in nature than anything else. I’m happy to say that the leg is feeling great – no pain at all! I am also not as slow as I would have anticipated after being out for so long, which gives me hope for a swift comeback!

Sunday’s run was along the Beltline. I was happy to see that there is some new art to enjoy since the last time I ran there!

A new mural along the Beltline

A new mural along the Beltline

Awful picture, but happy to be running again!

Sunday’s run also led me to discover that fellow blogger Kristen (Running for More) lives in my neighborhood! She saw the above picture posted on my Instagram and realized she saw me leaving for my run the same time she was heading out for hers! Small world!

How is your winter training coming along? What was your favorite Super Bowl ad? (I of course loved the Budweiser puppy commercial and the Always “Like a Girl” ad!)

You can also find me on Twitter and Instagram.

4 thoughts on “Shamrock Half Marathon Training Week 1: 01/26-02/01

  1. Yay for a pain free run! I love running by murals. I didn’t really have a favorite SB commercial this year… my friends and I ended up talking through most of them. Doritos was pretty creative.

    • Oh yes, the Doritos commercial was good too! Yes, the Beltline has murals and art installations all along it – I should have snapped more pictures but didn’t. Maybe in a future post!

  2. Better to take it easy.
    For how long you have to keep the mileage under 15?
    Winter training is being harder than expected but getting used to it faster than what I thought, so it’s all good.
    I didn’t watch the Super Bowl, didn’t want to stay awake.

    • Glad to hear your winter training is going well!
      How was the marathon spectating?!
      I can now gradually increase each week (within reason). My goal is to do between 13-15 miles this week total!

Leave a Reply

