Counting Down to the Shamrock Half

Loyal blog followers, I am indeed still alive though I’ve missed 3 weeks worth of training updates. Let’s blame it on juggling a new job with trying to get out and enjoy the beginnings of nice spring weather.

That said, I’m one week away from the Shamrock Half Marathon in Virginia Beach! I won’t bore you with every detail of my training from the past few weeks, but it has been going better than I hoped. I was only cleared to run again a little less than 8 weeks ago following a stress fracture in my tibia but I feel as prepared as I can be heading into this race.

Photo credit: J&A Racing

Photo credit: J&A Racing

Last Sunday I completed my longest run for this cycle – a 10 miler. I was so relieved that my leg felt strong and was pain-free both during and after the run! Yesterday was my longest run of the week and I even decided to push the pace for the first time since my injury. I completed a progression run of 6 miles, starting at 9:38/mile and dropping time with each mile to end at 8:10/mile. Again, no pain!!

To say that I’m excited about Shamrock weekend is an understatement. This will be my first race since November. It also happens to be my favorite half marathon course. J&A Racing does a fantastic job with this race – a flat, fun, and interesting course; a great expo and post-race party; tons of swag and great-looking finisher’s items. I’ll also get to see my family and hometown, which is always nice. And you can bet that at some point during my trip I will head to Rudee’s for a crabcake sandwich – I only hope it’s warm enough so I can sit on the best bar patio ever built. (Seriously if you’ve never been there and find yourself in Virginia Beach – go! Just don’t get there right before me and cause me to wait…)

Rudee’s patio – the best place ever. Photo credit: Trip Advisor

 

This week, I’ll fit in a few miles here and there ahead of race day but will mainly be focusing on packing and then enjoying the weekend ahead! And I promise to post a timely race recap afterwards 🙂

Roll call – who else is participating in Shamrock weekend? What other St. Patrick’s Day races do you like in your area?

You can also find me on Twitter and Instagram.

5 thoughts on “Counting Down to the Shamrock Half

  1. Pingback: Shamrock Half Marathon Recap: Part One | Cheery Running

Leave a Reply

