Shamrock Half Marathon Recap: Part One

I am back from a weekend trip to Virginia Beach, where I ran the Shamrock Half Marathon on Sunday. I had been looking forward to this weekend for a long time, and I won’t wait to tell you that it didn’t disappoint!

I was happy to be heading home to see my family and run a race that I love. This weekend came at an especially good time since the boyfriend works in sports and is in the middle of  round-the-clock March Madness coverage. So the dog and I set off for my hometown.

Sigmund dressed in his St. Patrick's Day finest

Sigmund dressed in his St. Patrick’s Day finest

I went into this race with a different mentality from my other half marathons. While I wanted to do well, I knew that I was dealing with an abbreviated training period since I was coming off of a stress fracture. I had two goals: get to Shamrock healthy and have fun on race day.

When I got to my parents’ house on Friday, we had a couple of mimosas that morning (which I normally wouldn’t do so close to a half marathon). I also had a vodka soda at lunch – which was at Rudee’s, just like I foreshadowed in my last post 🙂 I was treating this as a vacation that happened to have a race on the schedule, which made me feel a little more at ease.

Before lunch, my mom and I hit the expo. The Shamrock expo is one of the best I have ever been to. The volunteers are always smiling and helpful, there is a great selection of merchandise, and the festive vibe just puts everyone in a good mood. My mom and I took some silly pictures and shopped. I bought a fun new pair of running tights and drooled over a sweatshirt that I eventually ended up buying at the finish line party (more on that later). My mom even got into the spirit and picked up a headband that says Sham Rock On! That night my mom, sister, and I had an avocado pesto pasta for dinner and chilled out at the house. (My dad hadn’t returned from a business trip at that point)

Mom and me with a leprechaun at the expo

Mom and me with a leprechaun at the expo

Hoping for some Irish luck for the Shamrock Half Marathon

Hoping for some Irish luck for the Shamrock Half Marathon

I did a 2.2 mile shakeout run on Saturday morning, which felt great. The temperatures were in the mid-30s and I ran an 8:40/mile average, which was surprising since it was an easy effort. We’ll thank the flatness of Virginia Beach for that! I followed tradition and took my mom and sister to my favorite pre-race meal: sushi. I swear by this – I get a seaweed salad and a couple of rolls. Afterwards, my mom and I picked up my dad from the airport and then headed home. We chatted for a while, and I finally put myself to bed around 10 p.m. since my alarm was set for 4:15 a.m. the next day!

I don't normally buy a lot of stuff at expos, but these tights were too cute!

I don’t normally buy a lot of stuff at expos, but these tights were too cute!

I felt very at ease going into the next day. I was truly looking forward to just having fun on the course and seeing how it all turned out. I think this mentality helped me on Sunday… which you’ll hear more about later this week… 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter and Instagram.

4 thoughts on “Shamrock Half Marathon Recap: Part One

    • I know! It was tough with trying to work with family members’ schedules too. Looking forward to reading more on your weekend’s experiences too! I’m going through Shamrock withdrawals!

  1. Pingback: Shamrock Half Marathon Recap: Part Two | Cheery Running

Leave a Reply

